UTB Ocelots News
All-American Danica Markovic
All-American Danica Markovic
Volleyball - 1:15 p.m. Monday, November 25, 2013

Pool Play Schedule


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released the pool assignments and schedule for the 2013 Volleyball National Championship final site presented by J&L Enterprises and CNOS Foundation. The 12 champions from Saturday's National Championship Opening Round join the 11 teams with byes and host school Briar Cliff (Iowa) to form the 24-team field. The National Championship final site will be contested for the sixth-straight year at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa, from Dec. 3 - 7.

There are six pools with four teams in each pool and they all start action on Dec. 3. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the single-elimination bracket starting Dec. 6. The championship match will take place on Dec. 7 at 7 p.m. CST. NeuLion, the NAIA¹s official video-streaming, will be broadcasting all 47 matches of the Volleyball National Championship in Sioux City. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $24.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

The top-ranked University of Texas at Brownsville Ocelots head to Sioux City as one of two undefeated teams at 31-0. The Ocelots are advancing to their sixth national championship with a 21-6 all-time playoff record.

UTB will play in Pool A starting on Tuesday December 3 at 1:00 p.m. Pool A consists of UTB, Columbia (Mo.), Westmont (Calif.), and Briar Cliff. The first matchup for the Ocelots is against Briar Cliff, against Westmont on Wednesday December 4 at 1:00 p.m., and versus Columbia on Thursday December 5 at 3:15 p.m.

Defending national champion Concordia (Calif.), along with Biola (Calif.), Briar Cliff, Columbia, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Madonna (Mich.), MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.), Midland (Neb.), Northwestern (Iowa), Oklahoma Baptist, UTB and Vanguard (Calif.) all earned Opening Round byes. Madonna (Mich.) is the other team with an unblemished record at 38-0 and holds the most wins in the current 24-team field.

Opening Round champions from Saturday include: Dordt (Iowa), Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Georgetown (Ky.), Grand View (Iowa), Indiana Wesleyan, The Master's (Calif.), Park (Mo.), Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Spring Hill (Ala.), Trinity Christian (Ill.), Vanguard (Calif.) and Westmont.

For more national championship information, click here.

Photo by Marty Infante