UTB Ocelots News
(From left) Todd Lowery, Chris Milligan, Judy Boel, Pamela Lopez, Ethel Cantu, Nicole Sereda, Zach Gorman, Dr. Hilda Silva
(From left) Todd Lowery, Chris Milligan, Judy Boel, Pamela Lopez, Ethel Cantu, Nicole Sereda, Zach Gorman, Dr. Hilda Silva
UTB Athletic Teams - 9:35 a.m. Thursday, April 29, 2010
Six Scorpion teams got together for the annual Scorpion Athletics Banquet Wednesday at the Student Union Gran Salon, with six students receiving special academic recognition for their achievements.
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Ethel Cantu presented the crowd of 160 student-athletes, parents, and staff with the six recipients of the Athletics Academic Achievement Awards. Photo Gallery!
"These students exemplify what the term student-athlete is about," Cantu said. "Note how the word student comes before the athlete, and these students have put a great emphasis on the classroom. We should all be proud of them."
Honored were:
  • Baseball: Robert Mang
  • Vollyeball: Judith Boel
  • Men's Golf: Chris Milligan
  • Women's Golf: Pamela Lopez
  • Men's Soccer: Zach Gorman
  • Women's Soccer: Nicole Sereda
The academic award recipients were selected by their coaches, not just for posting one of the highest grade point averages on the team, but for their leadership qualities on the field or court, in the classroom, and in the community.
Following their introductions, the group posed for a photo with Cantu, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Hilda Silva, and Director of Athletics Todd Lowery. Mang was not present during the introductions, because he was in an evening class.
Student-athletes received Red River Athletic Conference all-conference team and Player of the Week awards. They also received special team awards selected by their coaches, which included:
  • Newcomer of the Year: Matt Ginn
  • Most Valuable Player: Jorge Camorlinga
  • Pitcher of the Year: Danny Gidora
  • Scorpion Award: Gus Henggeler
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Rafaella Dornelas
  • Newcomer of the Year: Judy Boel
  • Scorpion Award: Belinda Carreon
Men's Golf:
  • Lowest Average: Brock Crosson
  • Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Cavazos
  • Scorpion Award: Victor Calzada
Women's Golf
  • Lowest Average: Andrea Cadriel
  • Newcomer of the Year: Cat Lira
  • Scorpion Award: Crystal Garza
Men's Soccer:
  • Golden Boot Award: Aaron Guerrero
  • Most Valuable Player: Omar Apodaca 
  • Newcomer of the Year: Mario Perez
  • Scorpion Award: Nestor Morales
Women's Soccer:
  • Golden Boot Award: Leah Russell
  • Newcomer of the Year: Jodie Hunter
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Jodie Hunter
  • Most Valuable Player: Helen Wagstaff
  • Scorpion Award: Helen Wagstaff
Coaches from the fall sports received their Red River Athletic Conference champion Coach of the Year plaques. They included head coach Todd Lwoery, men's soccer coach Dan Balaguero, and women's soccer coach Nik Barjaktarevic. Golf coach Bob Lucio also received a certificate as the RRAC for women's golf Co-Coach of the Year.
The Sports Information Office also showed the Year in Review video before and after the ceremony. To view the video, click here.